Three Chess Books for Real Beginners

I’ve been promoting my own chess book (for novices) for several weeks now: Beat That Kid in Chess. So why would I mention two competing books on the royal game, both of them for beginners? Mine could be the only one ever written that uses a new teaching method called nearly-identical positions. Regardless of how many chess books may be similar to mine in various ways, I doubt that even one of them is equal to BTKC in following this new training method for developing tactical skill. Yet the following two publications may be worthy of consideration, in their own right.

The following are NOT pseudo-beginner-chess-books (to the best of my knowledge), meaning the cover gives the impression it is for beginners but it’s really too advanced for most novices. On the contrary, these appear to be chess books for REAL beginners. We’ll consider these three in alphabetical order of the title, which puts my own book first, I’m happy to say.

Included are promotional phrases, along with an Amazon reader review. If one of these two brief reviews of publications of my competitors causes someone to buy one of them, instead of my book, I’ll still survive . . . somehow.

Beat That Kid in Chess

"Beat That Kid in Chess" by Whitcomb

This chess book is balanced in depth and breadth, with lessons on how to checkmate your opponent, gain a material advantage over another beginner, promote a pawn to a queen, pin one of your opponent’s pieces, make a knight fork, avoid becoming checkmated, and much more. It emphasizes what a beginner most needs to know and understand, as soon as possible.

194 pages; published in 2015

.

Chess for Beginners: A Picture Guide Including Photographs and Diagrams for Self-Teaching

Al Horowitz chess book

In this book, I. A. Horowitz, Chess Editor of the New York Times and former U.S. Open Champion, applies some of the ideas and convictions acquired from thirty-five years of playing, teaching and analyzing the royal game. He emphasizes the tactical aspects of the game: how to recognize the big chance and hit hard when it occurs.

144 pages; published in 1992

.

How To Play Chess For Beginners: Tips & Strategies To Win At Chess

chess book by Joe Carlton

I recently started playing chess . . . and although I found the learning curve quite hard at first, I can definitely say that I picked up on it quite a bit. . . . I picked up this book in an attempt to learn some new strategies and tricks and I can truly say that it has improved my game substantially. [reader-review: Lucidity]

118 pages; published in 2014

###

.

A Book for Chess Beginners – Tactical

‘Beat That Kid in Chess’ has one thing missing in other chess books for the beginner: the NIP system of teaching (nearly-identical positions), which naturally strengthens the beginner’s tactical abilities.

Quoting From Chess Books

I must tell you something I’ve learned over the past half century: If your opponent has both a greater natural ability at chess and a greater drive to win, expect to lose at least a few games. [The study of chess theory will then probably help you but little.]

Queen Vs Rook End Games for Beginners

Many chess end game positions can be challenging, especially with queen versus rook. But Beginning Chess really is for beginners, so let’s look at easy puzzles with simple tactics.

New Book for Chess Beginners

This approach [the “nearly-identical positions” training method] can help you to think like a tournament player, in the sense of diving into a chess position as if it had never come up before . . .

.

2 thoughts on “Three Chess Books for Real Beginners

Comments are closed.